Left Nav Register User Pics Groups Videos Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
     

 

Right Nav

Left Container Right Container
 

Go Back   ClubCav.com: Chevy Cavalier Forums, Cavalier Forum » Specific Technical Discussion » How To Forums

Reply
Thread Tools
  #1  
Unread 10-18-2006, 08:30 AM
cheesecake cheesecake is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 76
Default HOW TO: Change spark plugs (with some pics)

THE NEWBIES GUIDE TO CHANGING SPARK PLUGS ON THE ECOTEC (WITH PICTURES)


TOOLS YOU WILL NEED
Rachet
Extension
5/8 spark plug socket
10 mm socket

1. Pop your hood. If you cant do this please take your car to a mechanic
2. Remove ignition wire conector from the idi cover


2. Remove the 4 small bolts holding the idi cover to the valve cover (10mm)


3. Now remove the idi cover


your engine should now look like this


4. now grab your spark plug socket 3/8,ratchet,extension. Insert into the hole and turn
counter clockwise to remove the spark plugs. Dothis to all 4 plugs.

5. Now get your new plugs ready. Put anti seize on the threads before you put them in.
(I went with the bosch platinum 2 because they were cheaper than the acdelco
plugs and were pre gapped). If you plugs arenÂ’t gapped it will tell you what to gap
them at in the owners manual. Mine says (.43).


(sorry I didnÂ’t get any pictures of the plugs ready to go in I had antiseize on my hands)

6. Install new plugs by turning the ratchet clockwise. Torque spec is 15 ft lbs donÂ’t
overtighten them because you could strip out the head. Do this to all 4

7.Reinstall the idi cover.

8. Reinstall the 4 bolts you took out with the 10mm socket

9. put the plug clip back in.


10. now close the hood and start the car and enjoy the feeling of taking care of your car.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Unread 10-18-2006, 11:29 AM
K.J.'s Avatar
K.J. K.J. is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 2,270
Send a message via AIM to K.J. Send a message via Yahoo to K.J.
Default

I think we can sticky this... :wink:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Unread 11-04-2006, 04:05 PM
domi31's Avatar
domi31 domi31 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nor Cal
Posts: 112
Default

just one note on step 6

before you put the Rachet on and tighten the plugs in, hand tight with just the extension.
A common mistake is people put the rachet on right away and they cross-thred the threads, this cost alot of money to have it re-thread. So just start out with just your hand and extension this is for any one putting in pulgs in any car.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Unread 11-04-2006, 05:14 PM
SHOoff's Avatar
SHOoff SHOoff is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Findlay, OH
Posts: 2,282
Send a message via AIM to SHOoff Send a message via Yahoo to SHOoff
Default

Quote:
(sorry I didn’t get any pictures of the plugs ready to go in I had antiseize on my hands)
On that note. It's a good idea to put antisieze on the threads of the new plugs before putting them in. You may have to change them again some day.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Unread 11-10-2006, 03:46 AM
AlMikeChris AlMikeChris is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tonawanda, wNY
Posts: 58
Default

how often should plugs be changed and wats a good brand to get my hands on?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Unread 06-23-2007, 11:34 PM
graywolf graywolf is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 293
Default

Plus you dont have to disconnect the wire for the ignition control module. And I would never run bosch in a chevy, expecialy the platnum2-4's . I also have a 04 classic with the 2.2 and it ran junky with bosch so I went with autolites because they didnt have acdelco's.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Unread 06-25-2007, 10:51 AM
cavalier2000's Avatar
cavalier2000 cavalier2000 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Belleville, IL
Posts: 7,485
Send a message via MSN to cavalier2000 Send a message via Yahoo to cavalier2000
Default

how often do you change the boots?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Unread 06-25-2007, 11:34 AM
4doors5gears 4doors5gears is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 548
Send a message via AIM to 4doors5gears
Default

I'm using Bosch Platinum +2s in my car and it runs just fine, dunno?

Like mentioned before, put the spark plug into the socket and twist them in until they stop turning, then if you don't have a torque wrench, the common way to do it is put the ratchet on and make 1/3 turn after hand tight.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Unread 06-25-2007, 12:13 PM
cavalier2000's Avatar
cavalier2000 cavalier2000 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Belleville, IL
Posts: 7,485
Send a message via MSN to cavalier2000 Send a message via Yahoo to cavalier2000
Default

I had bosch and they were good for about 5k miles and then they sucked lol
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Unread 10-02-2007, 03:17 AM
cheesecake cheesecake is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 76
Default

oh yeah dont run the bosch plugs. they cause your icm to go out
__________________
Reply With Quote



Club Cav Partners

















Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What Happened To Highrevmotorsports.com?? Htown2200 Shops & Part Reviews 4 02-10-2007 08:07 AM
WTB : LOTS OF STUFF FOR CAVs & Fires. d3vil_z22 Classifieds 2 09-09-2005 07:28 PM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:08 AM.
Clubcav.com is part of the Authority Auto Network.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Style Provided By: Wrestling Forum