Left Nav Register User Pics Groups Videos Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
     

 

Right Nav

Left Container Right Container
 

Go Back   ClubCav.com: Chevy Cavalier Forums, Cavalier Forum Specific Technical Discussion Maintenance

Reply
Thread Tools
  #1  
Unread 09-09-2006, 05:39 PM
RLO's Avatar
RLO RLO is offline
the boss
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 10,216
Send a message via ICQ to RLO Send a message via AIM to RLO Send a message via MSN to RLO
Default MAF sensor???

Is that the sensor that plugs in the air intake???
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Unread 09-09-2006, 05:40 PM
C a v l r Z's Avatar
C a v l r Z C a v l r Z is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 3,021
Default Re: MAF sensor???

Quote:
Originally Posted by RLO
Is that the sensor that plugs in the air intake???

cut a whole in ur hood and drill a hole into ur intake... then strap down a hobo-fool to ur hood and have him stick his finger in there... then he can report back to you on airspeed and temperature :lol:
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Unread 09-09-2006, 06:13 PM
SHOoff's Avatar
SHOoff SHOoff is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Findlay, OH
Posts: 2,282
Send a message via AIM to SHOoff Send a message via Yahoo to SHOoff
Default

Not on a J-body. The J-body uses an IAT sensor. It's a speed density system. It doesnt actually measure how much air goes in. Just figures that ammount based on calculations of the air density, based on it's temp.

A MAF will physically meter how much air is going into the engine. But, it's completely different.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Unread 09-10-2006, 05:39 AM
RLO's Avatar
RLO RLO is offline
the boss
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 10,216
Send a message via ICQ to RLO Send a message via AIM to RLO Send a message via MSN to RLO
Default

the problem I'm having is I have a p0171 code... which is running lean. The common cause of this code (from what I read) is a faulty or dirty maf sensor... I just wanted to clean it to see if I can fix this problem.... Here's the link

http://www.obd-codes.com/trouble_cod...gen-sensor.php
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Unread 09-10-2006, 10:01 AM
SHOoff's Avatar
SHOoff SHOoff is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Findlay, OH
Posts: 2,282
Send a message via AIM to SHOoff Send a message via Yahoo to SHOoff
Default

In your case then you'd want to check the IAT sensor and make sure its ok. Maybe just replace it. Its fairly inexpensive. Other than that, i'd take the suggestion of checking the fuel pressure, and change fuel filter. If the pump is starting to go south, it could be leaning out the engine real bad.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Unread 09-10-2006, 12:40 PM
RLO's Avatar
RLO RLO is offline
the boss
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 10,216
Send a message via ICQ to RLO Send a message via AIM to RLO Send a message via MSN to RLO
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SHOoff
In your case then you'd want to check the IAT sensor and make sure its ok. Maybe just replace it. Its fairly inexpensive. Other than that, i'd take the suggestion of checking the fuel pressure, and change fuel filter. If the pump is starting to go south, it could be leaning out the engine real bad.
Well what I did was ran the car to temp I got a p0300 code (misfire on #3) I cleared the code and unplug the IAT sensor.. No codes come back after 5-10 The car just runs like crap because I unplug the sensor...
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Unread 09-10-2006, 03:03 PM
RLO's Avatar
RLO RLO is offline
the boss
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 10,216
Send a message via ICQ to RLO Send a message via AIM to RLO Send a message via MSN to RLO
Default

Update I bought a new IAT sensor put back the stock intake system and still the same problems... I'm guessing the 02 senors are defected....
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Unread 09-10-2006, 09:53 PM
SHOoff's Avatar
SHOoff SHOoff is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Findlay, OH
Posts: 2,282
Send a message via AIM to SHOoff Send a message via Yahoo to SHOoff
Default

Hmm.... with the IAT sensor unhooked it should end up throwing codes for both HIGH and LOW output from the IAT. Mine did when the wires were broken to it.

As for the O2 sensors. They dont happen to be Bosch sensors do they? GM cars like to disagree with those for some strange reason. I had my 2.2 continuously throw a code for a slow reading on bank 1 sensor 1 (front O2 sensor). That problem never happened before having a bosch sensor.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Unread 09-11-2006, 04:02 AM
RLO's Avatar
RLO RLO is offline
the boss
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 10,216
Send a message via ICQ to RLO Send a message via AIM to RLO Send a message via MSN to RLO
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SHOoff
Hmm.... with the IAT sensor unhooked it should end up throwing codes for both HIGH and LOW output from the IAT. Mine did when the wires were broken to it.

As for the O2 sensors. They dont happen to be Bosch sensors do they? GM cars like to disagree with those for some strange reason. I had my 2.2 continuously throw a code for a slow reading on bank 1 sensor 1 (front O2 sensor). That problem never happened before having a bosch sensor.
yeah their bosch... let me ask you this... the 02 sensor that goes before the cat was engraved DENSO... I took it back to autozone they had 3 bosch senors that said DENSO on them..
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Unread 09-11-2006, 10:26 AM
SHOoff's Avatar
SHOoff SHOoff is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Findlay, OH
Posts: 2,282
Send a message via AIM to SHOoff Send a message via Yahoo to SHOoff
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RLO
Quote:
Originally Posted by SHOoff
Hmm.... with the IAT sensor unhooked it should end up throwing codes for both HIGH and LOW output from the IAT. Mine did when the wires were broken to it.

As for the O2 sensors. They dont happen to be Bosch sensors do they? GM cars like to disagree with those for some strange reason. I had my 2.2 continuously throw a code for a slow reading on bank 1 sensor 1 (front O2 sensor). That problem never happened before having a bosch sensor.
yeah their bosch... let me ask you this... the 02 sensor that goes before the cat was engraved DENSO... I took it back to autozone they had 3 bosch senors that said DENSO on them..
Weird stuff. I'd try to shoot for an ACDelco replacement. Much like I would with spark plugs
Reply With Quote



Club Cav Partners

















Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
headlight bulb number shiba009933 Exterior 4 12-05-2006 05:42 AM
New gauges are installed!!!!!!!! chevynut Interior 12 05-08-2006 09:37 PM
Whats the longest w/ NO SLEEP? cavidunrite Off Topic 32 10-31-2005 07:48 AM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:01 PM.
Clubcav.com is part of the Authority Auto Network.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Style Provided By: Wrestling Forum