Left Nav Register User Pics Groups Videos Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
     

 

Right Nav

Left Container Right Container
 

Go Back   ClubCav.com: Chevy Cavalier Forums, Cavalier Forum Specific Technical Discussion Maintenance

Reply
Thread Tools
  #1  
Unread 04-21-2010, 06:43 AM
Phyllis35 Phyllis35 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 18
Default Odometer reads "error" Help!!!

Had to jump the car off yesterday, was dead as a door nail. Ran for a few min then completely dead again. Turns out the battery cables were corroded and loose. Got em cleaned and tightened up, car started right up. Made the hour drive home last night with no problems. No problems even today, but the fiasco caused an "error" on my odometer and service light. I tried stomping on the breaks, removing every fuse, disconnected the negative and nothing. Took it to Advance Auto, no codes. How can I reset this thing???? Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

Brandon
2002 base Cavalier
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Unread 04-21-2010, 12:41 PM
emogoth01 emogoth01 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Tupelo, MS
Posts: 714
Default

wow seriously,hmm never heard of this b4. I'm interested in how this turns out.
__________________
horsepower is the force that determines at what speed you hit the wall, torque is the force that determines how far you take the wall with you after you hit it
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Unread 04-21-2010, 10:12 PM
ScottieAlan's Avatar
ScottieAlan ScottieAlan is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: reedsville ohio
Posts: 669
Default

may try the re learn process
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Unread 04-23-2010, 06:25 AM
Phyllis35 Phyllis35 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 18
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ScottieAlan View Post
may try the re learn process
What is the re-learn process and how can it be done?

Found this on JustAnswer.....The odometer will display 'error' if an internal IPC memory failure is detected or there is a loss of class 2 communication.

But how do we correct the problem????

Last edited by Phyllis35; 04-23-2010 at 06:59 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Unread 04-25-2010, 03:20 AM
ScottieAlan's Avatar
ScottieAlan ScottieAlan is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: reedsville ohio
Posts: 669
Default

there should be a thread on it here, do a search on it
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Unread 04-28-2010, 01:03 PM
Blackedout02's Avatar
Blackedout02 Blackedout02 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Blacksburg,SC
Posts: 80
Default

At this point I'd probably go to the dealer to have the mem. re-flashed. Although it very well may relearn it. I recently left my lights on and completely killed the battery, after that,for about 2 days, every time I went to stop it'd cut off, after talking to a friend of mine he said GM had an issue in the early 90's and then between 01 and 03 where the pcm would have to relearn how to idle, so it's not to far of a streach to think that might be the issue.
__________________
Auto technician @ Sears.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Unread 04-29-2010, 05:25 AM
Phyllis35 Phyllis35 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 18
Default

I'm afraid to go to the dealer. I read on one of these "mechanic" sites that having loose battery cables can cause a spike in the electrical system, possibly frying the odometer or something else. Another site got this info from a GM repair manual for my car, "if the odometer reads error then it should be removed and sent to a repair shop". I'd hate to send this car to the dealer and pay the $100/hr for them to say the odometer is gone. A used one on Ebay is about $40+. Wondering if I should take a chance on that? Car runs like a top. Nothing wrong with it. As far as the anti-theft relearn, I don't have antitheft. So how can I do the relearn?

Last edited by Phyllis35; 04-29-2010 at 05:28 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Unread 04-29-2010, 05:47 AM
Phyllis35 Phyllis35 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 18
Default

This came from a 15 year GM master tech from JustAnswer.com,

Question:all the dash lights on my 02 cavalier come on and i get a error reading on my odometer but the car runs fine why is this


"ok good...now all the information including the gas guage is sent thre one wire to the IPC(dash cluster) since one thing always works then we know that the IPC information wire is good and the IPC has power and ground..and with the IPC saying error...you have a bad guage cluster (IPC)"


Again, I hate to spend $200 at the dealer for them to say your speedo cluster is bad. So that's what I'm kinda leaning toward.

Last edited by Phyllis35; 04-29-2010 at 05:52 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Unread 04-29-2010, 06:12 AM
Labman Labman is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Northern USA
Posts: 582
Default

I really think my Cavalier is a great car, but nothing is perfect, and the dash cluster seems to be a real defect. They seem to go bad frequently, new ones are $250, and very difficult to install. I was lucky to find a new Sunfire cluster on Ebay for $70.

My 02 is the LS, but I think they all have the antitheft and relearn garbage. Installing a used cluster is a tough project, getting the dash apart and back together and then figuring out the relearn process. Still, the dealer will charge you $250 or more for a rebuilt cluster and maybe more than that for labor.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Unread 05-04-2010, 12:50 AM
Phyllis35 Phyllis35 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 18
Default

Found a cluster from a 04 Sunfire off Ebay. I'm pretty confident that a new cluster is the answer.
Reply With Quote



Club Cav Partners

















Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:49 AM.
Clubcav.com is part of the Authority Auto Network.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Style Provided By: Wrestling Forum