Left Nav Register User Pics Groups Videos Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
     

 

Right Nav

Left Container Right Container
 

Go Back   ClubCav.com: Chevy Cavalier Forums, Cavalier Forum Specific Technical Discussion Suspension, Brakes, Wheels, & Tires

Reply
Thread Tools
  #1  
Unread 01-15-2010, 12:45 PM
stinkechin stinkechin is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 12
Default front sway bar

ok so i was online buying parts for my new cavy ive had it 3 days so anyway i ordered new sway bar end links along with other stuff to find out i dont have a sway bar.... i thought they all came with them but i guess not . so i asking how hard is it to put one on what all needs to come off?

thanks for any help

kevin
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Unread 01-15-2010, 02:14 PM
misnblu's Avatar
misnblu misnblu is offline
OG Admin/ Mod so behave
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Down for Life
Posts: 5,193
Default

If you don't have a factory front sway bar, you'll need to get the D bushings clamps from GM. They are what hold in the D bushing of the sway bar and without these, you can't install the bar.
Once done, the subframe will have to come down for installation of the bar.
Good luck with it.
__________________
www.misnblu.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Unread 01-18-2010, 02:59 AM
Metro666's Avatar
Metro666 Metro666 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Montreal Quebec
Posts: 10
Send a message via MSN to Metro666
Default

How about a rear bar?? I can have a complete rear bar from a '99 Z24 for 50$ wich i find is a good deal!!
Is it pretty hard to get it installed??
__________________
http://metroid666.monchar.com/
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Unread 01-18-2010, 08:25 AM
misnblu's Avatar
misnblu misnblu is offline
OG Admin/ Mod so behave
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Down for Life
Posts: 5,193
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Metro666 View Post
How about a rear bar?? I can have a complete rear bar from a '99 Z24 for 50$ wich i find is a good deal!!
Is it pretty hard to get it installed??
The Z24's came with a rear bar but they're inside the v part of the axle and welded in.
So if someone is selling you an axle, that's the only way you're going to get an actual rear sway bar from a Z24.
Only Eiback, Progress, and Addco have rear sway bars that are recommended.
If this is what he's selling you, do so but make sure that all the hardware comes with it.

Good luck.
__________________
www.misnblu.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Unread 01-19-2010, 11:35 PM
z yaaaa z yaaaa is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Sioux City, IA.
Posts: 67
Default

^^^ agreed.

as for the front sway bar, you can pick up one from an 03-05 ls sport and be good to go. they are the biggest 3rd gen j-body one next to the aftermarket ones. i believe it is 24mm. the aftermarket ones are 25.4mm (or 1 inch).

you could easily pick one up in a junk yard. if you cant find an 03-05 its ok to use one off an older car as well, just wont be as large. i believe the 95-99 is 22mm and the 00-02 is 23mm but dont quote me on that.

try www.car-part.com to find one.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Unread 01-20-2010, 01:28 AM
stinkechin stinkechin is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 12
Default

i just pulled one off a 98 z24 yesterday next is a subframe from an 04

kevin
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Unread 01-20-2010, 09:21 AM
misnblu's Avatar
misnblu misnblu is offline
OG Admin/ Mod so behave
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Down for Life
Posts: 5,193
Default

Why do you want a subframe?
They don't need to be changed or upgraded unless yours is damaged.

Either way, good luck with your progress.
__________________
www.misnblu.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Unread 01-20-2010, 10:23 AM
stinkechin stinkechin is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 12
Default

i bought the car off a guy at work he hit a curb at about 30mph so the pass side wheel is off center by about an inch the arm doesnt look bent so i figured its the subframe and the lower motor mount is all bent up the and the torque strut got a new motor mount and torque strut just have not put it on yet.

kevin
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Unread 01-21-2010, 10:12 AM
misnblu's Avatar
misnblu misnblu is offline
OG Admin/ Mod so behave
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Down for Life
Posts: 5,193
Default

Got it.
Good luck with it.
__________________
www.misnblu.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Unread 01-21-2010, 11:37 AM
stinkechin stinkechin is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 12
Default

im going to relpace the arm tomororw and hope thats it if not im waiting till summer to do the subframe..lol its cold out

kevin
Reply With Quote



Club Cav Partners

















Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:47 AM.
Clubcav.com is part of the Authority Auto Network.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Style Provided By: Wrestling Forum